2020 Remaining Presidential Candidates Face Off On Super Tuesday


Four Democratic candidates are remaining in the 2020 race, after Mayor Pete Buttigieg, Tom Steyer, and Senator Amy Klobuchar dropped out over the weekend. Today marks “Super Tuesday,”as 14 states will hold their primaries. Here are the candidates (in the order of primary/caucuses wins). 

Senator Bernie Sanders, (I-VT) won both the Iowa and Nevada Caucuses. Sanders is an American politician who has served as the junior United States Senator from Vermont since 2007 and as U.S. Representative for the state’s at-large congressional district from 1991 to 2007. 

Former Vice President Joe Biden has seen a surge in the polls since his victory on Saturday in South Carolina.  Joseph Robinette Biden Jr. is an American politician who served as the 47th vice president of the United States from 2009 to 2017 and represented Delaware in the U.S. Senate from 1973 to 2009. Moderates have been supporting Biden’s promises for a return to normalcy, arguing against Sanders’ promises.  This is Biden’s third run for President, and Saturday represented his first primary victory.

Remaining candidates include: Elizabeth Warren (US senator Massachusetts): Elizabeth Ann Warren is an American politician and former academic, serving as the senior United States Senator from Massachusetts since 2013. She was formerly a law school professor specializing in bankruptcy law. 

Tulsi Gabbard (US representative Hawaii): Tulsi Gabbard is an American politician and Hawaii Army National Guard major who serves as the U.S. Representative for Hawaii’s 2nd congressional district. Elected in 2012, she is the first Hindu member of Congress and the first Samoan-American voting member of Congress. 

Micheal Bloomberg (Former NYC mayor/CEO of Bloomberg L.P): A billionaire, Micheal Bloomberg has self-funded his campaign and has spent over 500 million dollars on ads. That is the most any candidate has spent on ads in US history. Bloomberg was a republican mayor from 2001-2007, who became a democrat in 2018.