Trump Plans To Expand Travel Ban


By Lily Waterman

As the impeachment trial continues, President Trump has announced that he is preparing to add a few countries to the travel ban.

The Trump travel ban began in 2017 and, otherwise known as the “Muslim ban,” places restrictions on travel to the United States for citizens of  Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen.

“We have to be safe . . . You see what’s going on in the world. Our country has to be safe,” said Trump.

According to the Associated Press, a few officials confirmed that Belarus, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, Nigeria, Sudan, and Tanzania will be added to the draft of the proposed restrictions.

“I just feel like he is clearly targeting certain countries that favor Islam, and I feel like nobody even cares that he’s being racist. He does these things and the whole country just watches him without doing anything,” comments Lara Kiklawi.

As the 2020 Presidential election approaches, Trump is also beginning to indicate plans to possibly make cuts in the U.S. public pension and healthcare programs for senior citizens (Social Security and Medicare).

There is also news of Visa application restrictions towards women who travel to the U.S. to give birth so their children can be American citizens.

Many WHHS students asked about the travel ban preferred not to comment, but the general notion was not happy with this new ban. People do not wish to put their political views because of how dichotomized politics have become today.