71st Primetime Emmy Awards: A Celebration of Firsts

71st Primetime Emmy Awards: A Celebration of Firsts

By Jimmy He, Staff Writer

The 71st Primetime Emmy Awards were held on September 22nd at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles, hosting the cast and producers of various TV series for awards presented in 27 different categories.

Without a host for the fourth time in its history, some of the most memorable winners included “Game of Thrones”, which won the award for best drama for the fourth time, and Phoebe Waller-Bridge, the creator of Comedy Series “Fleabag” who took home a total of four awards for her show.

Additionally, Billy Porter became the first openly gay black man to win an Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama, winning the award for his role in “Pose.”

“I’m glad we are now accepting people regardless of their race and how they identify,” says senior Cheyenne Ajebe, “I’m proud that our society is focusing on the real reason why actors are winning Emmy’s—their talent and ability to bring connections to the collective viewers.”

The major winners from the night were as follows:

Best Comedy: “Fleabag”

Best Limited Series: “Chernobyl” (HBO)

Best Actress, Comedy: Phoebe Waller-Bridge, “Fleabag”

Best Actor, Comedy: Bill Hader, “Barry”

Best Actress, Drama: Jodie Comer, “Killing Eve”

Best Actor, Drama: Billy Porter, “Pose”

Best Actress, Limited Series or TV Movie: Michelle Williams, “Fosse/Verdon”

Best Actor, Limited Series or TV Movie: Jharrel Jerome, “When They See Us”

Supporting Actress, Comedy: Alex Borstein, “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”

Supporting Actor, Comedy: Tony Shalhoub, “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”

Supporting Actress, Drama: Julia Garner, “Ozark”

Supporting Actor, Drama: Peter Dinklage, “Game of Thrones”

Supporting Actress, Limited Series or Movie: Patricia Arquette, “The Act”

Supporting Actor, Limited Series or Movie: Ben Whishaw, “A Very English Scandal”

Television Movie: “Black Mirror: Bandersnatch” (Netflix)

Variety Sketch Series: “Saturday Night Live” (NBC)

Variety Talk Series: “Last Week Tonight With John Oliver” (HBO)

Reality Competition Program: “RuPaul’s Drag Race” (VH1)

Writing for a Comedy Series: Phoebe Waller-Bridge, “Fleabag” (“Episode 1”)

Writing for a Drama Series: Jesse Armstrong, “Succession” (“Nobody Is Ever Missing”)

Writing for a Limited Series or Movie: Craig Mazin, “Chernobyl”

Writing for a Variety Series: “Last Week Tonight With John Oliver” (HBO)

Directing for a Comedy Series: Harry Bradbeer, “Fleabag” (“Episode 1”)

Directing for a Drama Series: Jason Bateman, “Ozark” (“Reparations”)

Directing for a Limited Series or Movie: Johan Renck, “Chernobyl”

Directing for a Variety Series: Don Roy King, “Saturday Night Live” (“Host: Adam Sandler”)